Uncategorized

Undesired Locations: A Military Marriage Hurdle

I wrote this blog a year ago and, a year later, nothing has changed. Daily, I still hear spouses complaining about their location and blaming their unhappiness on on a bad assignment and even blaming the active duty member. Since new spouses arrive daily to this life, I felt it was worth a repost. Never forget that home is where the military sends you and try to make the best out of every assignment. Trust me, you may even be surprised and find you like it…or at least can tolerate it for a few years.

New Military SpouseBy Sunshine Burgess

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” ~Lao Tzu

When a couple marries, regardless of faith, the marriage vows usually say something about “for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, in good times and bad”, well maybe for military marriages, “for good assignment or bad assignment” should be added. You may have thought marrying into the military that you were going to see the world, but you forgot those little nowhere towns were a part of the great big world.

My husband I are celebrating our fifteenth anniversary this week. He married me in a small town in Mississippi that was his second assignment within my lovely home state. I remember him saying many times that he didn’t join the military to get the grand tour of Mississippi although it was all I had ever known and…

View original post 795 more words

Leave a Reply

