Uncategorized

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

By Sunshine Burgess

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

“My mama always said, ‘Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.’” ~Forrest Gump

As I was sitting here looking at a blank page, I wondered exactly what you as readers would want to read. I don’t know about you, but I get tired of the endless articles about how hard military life is and how difficult deployments are on a marriage. I would think that by now, thanks to websites and social media, we all get it. We all understand that our life is difficult and the fact that sometimes we are left alone for months on end doesn’t help anything.

When will it all just stop? Not the life, but the endless reminders. For me, it is like being on a diet and working it like a rockstar. Somehow managing to not think about chocolate or cheesecake and staying focused on the end result until someone says it. You know what I am talking about! That good intentioned person who asks “don’t you miss …?” Well, no, I actually hadn’t thought about it until now. I was living in my utopia of believing that my fresh fruit for dessert was actually satisfying my desire for dessert the same way as chocolate or cheesecake…or even better…Turtle Cheesecake! At that moment, I realize that I am missing something and this diet isn’t going so great. Maybe at that point I just want to curl up and hide in my yoga pants and devour an entire Turtle Cheesecake, but before you said anything, I was okay with the fruit.

Fruit is the reality. Fruit is what is going to get me to my end result. Fruit may not be my ideal dessert choice, but in the here and now, fruit is what I have to work with. We don’t need the reminder that chocolate is better. We already know it curbs our cravings better, but we can’t have chocolate. There are millions of people in the world who also can’t have chocolate, but since they aren’t on our same diet, no one thinks they need the constant reminder of how much better chocolate can be. Sometimes, we just need people to ignore the fact we are on a diet and treat us like everyone else.

The next time that article comes across your news feed about all the reasons being a military spouse is hard or the top 10 reasons deployments suck, unless you want the reminder, don’t read it. There is no harm in cutting out the “chocolate pusher”. We all do what we have to do to not feel like we are somehow lacking in life. Me? Sometimes I dip my strawberries in chocolate!

Leave a Reply

